St. John of the Cross offers gluten-free hosts to address the needs of those affected by Celiac disease or other conditions. If you wish to receive a gluten-free host, before mass begins, go to the sacristy and tell the high school sacristan that you need a gluten-free host. It is important that you tell only the sacristan, and not the priest or an usher as that causes confusion for how many may be needed. (If you are unsure who the sacristan is, by all means ask the priest or an usher to help you identify them.) The unconsecrated hosts will be brought up during the gifts procession and consecrated during the Mass. When it is time to receive communion, we ask that you go to the presiding priest and say “gluten-free” clearly and audibly for the priest to hear. Please do this every time, even when you think the priest knows who you are. If you have a child who will be receiving gluten-free please make sure that they also speak clearly as well.